Skip to main content

Thanks for a Successful Undergraduate Spring Symposium

  • Home
  • What's New
  • Thanks for a Successful Undergraduate Spring Symposium
The 1st Annual WVU Undergraduate Spring Symposium was a success! Thank you to all 100+ undergraduate presenters, their faculty mentors, and the many faculty members and administrators who came out to mingle with both future and current students. More than 100 undergraduate students from wide-ranging disciplines, from engineering to audiology and agriculture to creative arts, explained the results of their original research and/or creative projects to attendees. Our undergraduates enthusiastically represented WVU to prospective students and their parents who were attending the April 8 Decide WVU Day. It was evident that WVU prepares students to "make knowledge, not just consume it." (Ryan Claycomb, Associate Dean, Honors College)

The Office of Undergraduate Research and the Honors College in conjunction with Undergraduate Admissions and Eberly College's SpeakWrite organized this campus-wide, culminating spring poster event to celebrate undergraduate scholarly activity (research/creative endeavors) whilst encouraging prospective students to decide on attending WVU.
The Intercollegiate Biochemistry Program, the Biochemistry Student Club, and the American Chemical Society Student Affiliates (ACS-SA) coordinated judging for biology/biochemistry/chemistry related projects. The results of this judging are given below:

Chemistry Division:
First Place - Dylan Leary (Faculty Mentor: Carsten Milsmann)
Second Place - Josef Heller (Faculty Mentor: Kung Wang)
Third Place - Anika Rowe (Faculty Mentor: Maura McLaughlin)

Biology - Animal Division:
First Place - Sundus Lateef (Faculty Mentors: Janet Tou & Vagner Benedito)
Second Place - Curtis Patton  (Faculty Mentor: Scott Bowdridge)
Third Place - Rachel Tallman  (Faculty Mentor: Paul Lockman)

Biology - Non-Animal Division:
First Place - Stephanie Arnold (Faculty Mentor: Daniel Panaccione)
Second Place - Lacey Smith (Faculty Mentor: Edward Brzostek)
Third Place - Loren King (Faculty Mentor: Craig Barrett)