Skip to main content

Faculty Award

Faculty Award for Distinction in Mentoring Undergraduates in Research

– The Honors College and the Office of Undergraduate Research have developed a procedure to better recognize, reward, and encourage faculty members who mentor undergraduate students in research and creative endeavors. Nominations for this award will be accepted through March 17, 2017. Nominations are accepted from any source - WVU College Deans, Department Chairs, faculty colleagues, and student researchers, including self-nomination. Nomination of a faculty member from several sources (e.g., multiple students, faculty colleagues or a combination thereof) tend to enhance the nomination. Outstanding nominees will be invited to submit supporting documentation. Awards will be made at the annual Honors College Recognition Ceremony in May.

Eligibility: Any full-time tenure or non-tenure track West Virginia University faculty member who has not received this award in the past five (5) years.

Committee: Nominations will be reviewed and outstanding nominees will be invited to submit supporting documentation.

Award : Winner will receive a plaque and a small grant to be used for continued support of undergraduate research.

More Information? Contact the Office of Undergraduate Research at and print out a one page flyer with the above information.

Nominations: All eligible nominations will be considered. Nominations must include a description of why the person should receive the award. For example, how has the nominee gone beyond his/her normal job responsibilities to include undergraduates in research/creative work? How has inclusion of undergraduates in research impacted the students and/or the department?

2017 Award Winners

Dr. Kirk Hazen (Department of English, Eberly College of Arts and Sciences)
Dr. Natalie Shook (Department of Psychology, Eberly College of Arts and Sciences)

2016 Award Winner

Dr. James E. Smith (Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources)